Graben area export line (GAEL)

Graben Area Export Line

The Graben Area Export Line (GAEL) is made up of two sections:

The Northern Spurline, a 75 kilometre (km) long 24-inch pipeline running from the base of the ETAP oil export riser via a wye (the connection of the Southern Spurline) located 3 km from ETAP to the base of a riser on the INEOS Forties Pipeline System (FPS) Unity platform entry point to FPS.

The Southern Spurline, a 38 km long 24-inch pipeline running from a subsea isolation valve assembly (SSIV) 250m from the Elgin Platform via a wye (the Southern Spurline wye assembly) located 2km from the SSIV to the wye on the Northern Spurline.

The Shearwater platform is connected to the Southern Spurline wye assembly by an 8km pipeline. A further wye (the Shearwater wye) is located adjacent to the Southern Spurline wye assembly and has a spare leg available to future connections.

GAEL is operated by INEOS FPS Limited and currently transports unstabilised oil from the ETAP, Elgin/Franklin and Shearwater platforms to INEOS's FPS. Subsequent transportation in FPS leads to the delivery of Forties Blend at Hound Point and raw gas at Kinneil.

The Northern Spurline was commissioned in 1998 and the Southern Spurline in 2001 and it is expected that GAEL will remain in service to at least 2030.

Both the Northern and Southern Spurlines are divided rights systems and each of the owners has a divided capacity right. Any third party interested in transporting oil through either of the GAEL spurlines should contact:

  • The System Operator (INEOS FPS Limited) for further technical information; and
  • Each of the owners to discuss commercial terms and availability of capacity in that owners divided capacity right.


The contacts in each company are as follows:

INEOS FPS Ltd (System Operator)
Farhad Zaidi
GAEL Business Manager
INEOS FPS Limited
1st Floor, Deepwater House
Kingswells Causeway
Prime Four Business Park
Kingswells
Aberdeen
AB15 8PU
farhad.zaidi@ineos.com
Tel: 01224 084424

BPEOC (Capacity owner) 
Fiona Williamson
BP
1 Wellheads Avenue
Dyce
Aberdeen
AB21 7PB
fiona.williamson@bp.com

Eni Elgin/Franklin Limited (Capacity owner)
Bruce Becker
Eni Elgin/Franklin Limited
Ebury Bridge House
10 Ebury Bridge Road
London
SW1W 8PZ
bruce.becker@eniuk.com

Chrysaor North Sea Limited (Capacity owner)
Guy Woodall
Chrysaor North Sea Limited
The Capital, 431 Union Steet
Aberdeen
AB11 6DA
guy.woodall@chrysaor.com

Dyas UK Ltd (Capacity owner)
Jeroen Hoonhorst
Dyas UK Ltd
Rijnkade 1
3511 LC
Utrecht
The Netherlands
jhoonhorst@shv.nl

E.F. Oil and Gas Limited (Capacity owner)
Moira Reid
Total E&P UK PLC
Total House, Tarland Road
Westhill, Aberdeen
AB32 6JZ 
moira.reid@total.com

ExxonMobil (Capacity owner)
Eric Coustures
Esso Exploration and Production UK Limited
ExxonMobil House
Ermyn Way
Leatherhead
Surrey
KT22 8UX
eric.coustures@exxonmobil.com

Summit Exploration Limited (Capacity owner)
Chris Zgoda
Summit Exploration Limited
23 College Hill
London
EC4R 2RP
czgoda@summiteandp.com

Premier Oil E&P UK Ltd (Capacity Owner)
Catherine Morgan
Premier Oil E&P UK Ltd
Prime Four Business Park
Kingswells
Aberdeen
AB15 8PU
cmorgan@PREMIER-OIL.com

Shell UK Limited (Capacity owner)
Craig Sandison
Shell UK Limited
1 Altens Farm Road
Nigg
Aberdeen
AB12 3FY
C.Sandison@shell.com

ChevronTexaco (Capacity owner)
David Jones
Chevron North Sea Limited
Chevron House
Hill of Rubislaw
Aberdeen
AB15 6XL
david.jones@chevron.com

Characteristics (DOCX 138 KB) 

Infrastructure Specific Information (DOCX 74 KB)

High Level Capacity

GAEL Schematic